I-MECK 4A names boys’ soccer all-conference team

HUNTERVSILLE – Hough High forward Michael Basnett was named the I-MECK 4A conference boys soccer player of the year and North Mecklenburg’s Paul Kikta was named conference coach of the year.

Basnett, a junior, scored a team-high 24 goals and had 10 assists for Hough, which won the conference championship and reached the third round of the state playoffs. Kikta guided North Mecklenburg to a 12-8-4 record and into the third round of the playoffs.

• The all-conference team: Cole Tesar, Austin Clamon and Eli Greear (Hopewell); James Jackson, Justin Collins, Landon Moss and Basnett (Hough); Jeffrey Angelino, Michael Kuras, Logan Frey, Steven Demeny and Mike Carman (Lake Norman); Sami Jilla, Daniel Faler, Zack Wright and Tyus Lopez (Mallard Creek); Noah Privott and John Merrill (Mooresville); Kelvin Sarkoh, Sven Wesel, C.J. Jasinski, Bryce Crocknell and Robbie Quinlan (North Meckleburg); Luis Amaya, Uriel Velasquez and Jake Speidel (Vance); and Luabeya Bosenge, Daniel Valder (West Charlotte).

Four Davidson College football players awarded athletic honors

DAVIDSON – Led by senior Chazzo Habliston on the first team, four Davidson football players were named to the Academic All-Pioneer Football League team by the conference’s sports information directors. Davidson’s Lanny Funsten, Patrick Moynahan and Adam Dulberger were named to the second team.

Pioneer Football League athletic directors established the Academic All-PFL squads in 1993 to recognize the league’s outstanding student-athletes. To be eligible, the player must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 on a scale of 4 and have reached sophomore standing both athletically and academically at his current school.

Hough sweeps volleyball awards

CORNELIUS – Hough High’s Julia Brown, a junior outside hitter, was named player of the year on the All-I-MECK 4A conference volleyball team. Hough’s Sandi Skidmore was named conference coach of the year.

Brown had 402 kills for the Huskies, who went 35-3, won the conference championship with a 14-0 record and reached the state semifinal.

• The all-conference team: Haley Kain, Jennifer Hart, Madeline Lippy, Jasmine Lindor and Brown (Hough); Caroline Colleran  and Alexis Bednarick  (Lake Norman); Mallory Pharr (Mooresville); Katelynn Granger and Hannah Scheffer  (North Mecklenburg); Michaela Manning and Keimaya Hunter  (Mallard Creek);  Haley Schmidt (Hopewell); and Promise Sherman (West Charlotte).

SouthLake Christian to host charity run/walk

HUNTERSVILLE – SouthLake Christian will hold its first 5K Fun Run/Walk For Missions Outreach on Feb. 23. The race will begin at 8:45 a.m. at SouthLake Christian.

Proceeds will go to Missions Outreach, a charitable program within SCLA that teaches students the value of community service and raises money to help those in need (www.south

Race registration is online only at www.queencitytiming.com/search/event.

The entry fee costs $20 before Dec. 31, $30 before Jan. 31 and $35 before Feb. 9.

For information, visit www.southlakeeagles.org/sportsnews.

Registration must be made prior to the day of the race.

– compiled by Cliff Mehrtens