HUNTERSVILLE – Getting elected to a fourth term didn’t come easy for Huntersville Mayor Jill Swain, who defeated former Mecklenburg County commissioner Jim Puckett by 26 votes in the Nov. 5 election.

Rob Kidwell also edged out Commissioner Charles Guignard to join five incumbents on the Huntersville Town Board of Commissioners.

The complexion of Cornelius and Davidson town boards change considerably due to newcomers winning vacant seats.

Woody Washam Jr., Jim Duke and Thurman Ross Jr. will join incumbents Dave Gilroy and John Bradford in Cornelius. Newcomer Beth Cashion was the leading vote-getter in Davidson, with Stacey Anderson taking the fifth and final seat from incumbent Connie Wessner.

Rhonda Lennon defeated Christine Mast to return to her District 1 seat on the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Board of Education.

Voters approved bond referendums benefiting CMS, Central Piedmont Community College and Cornelius.