Two Patriots picked for prestigious all-star football game

DAVIDSON - Davidson Day freshmen Garrett Groulx (defensive end) and Chase Monroe (linebacker), both freshmen, will play in the Eastbay Youth All-American Game at the Alamodome on Jan. 4 in San Antonio, Texas. 

Garrett Groulx, 6-foot-2 and 210 pounds, started all 13 games for the Patriots, who won a third straight state championship. Groulx finished fourth on the team with 75 tackles, including 16 ½ for losses. He led Davidson Day with nine sacks.

Monroe (6-2, 190) started 11 games and missed two because of an injury. His 95 tackles were second-best on the team, despite being sidelined. Monroe had 12½ tackles for losses and 1½ sacks. This is the second year both players have been named an EastBay Youth All-American.


Grier is among finalists for national football award

DAVIDSON – Davidson Day quarterback Will Grier is among six finalists for the 2014 U.S. Army Player of the Year Award, given to the nation’s most outstanding senior football player.

The winner will be recognized during the U.S. Army All-American Bowl Awards Show on Jan. 3 in San Antonio, Texas.  Grier, who has committed to Florida, led the nation with 77 touchdown passes this season. He passed for 4,989 yards this season and is North Carolina’s career leader in touchdown passes (188).

Charlotte Catholic running back Elijah Hood is also a finalist. 


MECK 4A All-Conference football team named

HUNTERSVILLE – Hopewell High’s Dominique Heath and Hough’s Tim Gawert shared the Special Teams Player of the Year award on the MECKA 4A All-Conference team. Mallard Creek’s Jaylen Samuels offensive player of the year and Mike Palmieri won coach of the year. Kyrell Williamson (Kannapolis Brown) was defensive player of the year.

• The all-conference offense include quarterbacks Josh Stilley (Hough), receivers Jonquez Williams (Hopewell), Stephen Langford (North Mecklenburg) and Trey Foggie  (Vance); running backs Dimitris Camp (Hopewell), Tylan Murrell (Hough), Lawrence Pittman (Mallard Creek), Kydrian Green (Vance) and Prelowe Grier (West Charlotte); linemen Daniel Butler and Deion Moore (Hopewell), Jacob McCreary, Connor Brooks and Christian Walker (Hough), Omar Todman, Derrick Freeland, Tim Samuels and Zack Phelps (Mallard Creek), Deonore Walker  (North Meck), Marlen Edwards and Christopher Brown (Vance) and Claron Hagood (West Charlotte).

• The all-conference defense include linemen Tajai Liles and Deion Oliver (Hopewell), Oliver Webb (North Mecklenburg) and James White (West Charlotte);  linebackers Christian Young (Hough), Trevor Lowery and LaDante Daniels  (North Meck) and Anthony Butler (Vance); defensive backs Austin Moses and Kiwain Staton (Hopewell), Akeem Barringer, Mark Fields and Corey Bell (Hough).